Author Alicia Dean Helping Children Today For A Better Tomorrow Through The Ian Somerhalder Foundation

Author Alicia Dean Helping Children Today For A Better Tomorrow Through The Ian Somerhalder Foundation

In 2013, bestselling author, Alicia Dean, Vampire Diaries enthusiast, attended a TVD convention where she heard Ian Somerhalder, who plays vampire bad boy Damon Salvatore, speak about the thing closest to his heart, the IS Foundation. According to its website:

“The IS FOUNDATION aims to empower, educate and collaborate with people and projects to positively impact the planet and its creatures.”

Alicia found herself moved beyond words by Ian’s kind heart and generosity as he spoke of a new project that ISF was putting together: The ISF Animal Sanctuary. According to Alicia, the idea is to bring kids who have been bullied, kids who are bullies, and unwanted animals together in the hope of teaching them to bond and connect. His theory is, many kids who are bullies are bullied at home by their parents and might not have the opportunity to show and receive compassion.

“Through the art of compassion, the continuously devastating issue of bullying in our country could be approached in an intensely impactful manner that encourages healthy relationships. We know in our hearts that animals and bullies share common emotional baggage. For example, an abused and neglected pit-bull has the power to transform a school bully into a compassionate leader with a shift in benevolent consciousness. While both the dog and the bully are refused the opportunity to demonstrate their true potential within their daily lives, a healing and educational journey side by side has the power to manifest massive changes in perspective.” From the isfoundation.com

You can read more about the ISF Animal Sanctuary and the Foundation here:

Home

Alicia, an author of suspense and paranormal romance, was thrilled at the opportunity to write stories adapted from The Vampire Diaries through the Kindle Worlds program at Amazon.com. She has published two, What the Heart Wants, and Divine Enemy, with one more book in the trilogy in the works. She was so moved by Ian’s kind heart and generosity that she has decided to donate 10% of all of her Kindle Worlds royalties to his sanctuary efforts.

Book One: What the Heart Wants    

Summary: Golden girl Elena’s dark side takes over and Stefan and Damon struggle to keep her from the destruction that will surely come from loving to her ravenous heart’s content. Now the former prom queen knows what so many girl ghouls before her came to understand: Life sure can suck when you’re a teenage vampire. One more complication that makes nightlife in Mystic Falls an intoxicating brew of heartache and longing: on one hand, Damon is quite happy that vampire Elena is no longer suffering from her brother Jeremy’s cruel death. On the other hand, he’s crushed to discover that, when he turned off her humanity, the act seems to have killed whatever feelings Elena had for him.

But is Jeremy really dead? Not if Elena’s best friend, the obsessive, scheming Bonnie has her way. Fans of The Vampire Diaries books and People’s Choice-winning television series will be thrilled to discover there is way more life (and love) after death in Mystic Falls.

Read my review here.

 

Book Two: Divine Enemy  

Summary: Elena Gilbert is no longer a vampire and is now trying to learn to live with the grief over her brother, Jeremy’s passing. There is also the sobering knowledge that in her previous incarnation she caused so much suffering and death. On top of all that emotional baggage Elena experiences another frustration: A strange, alluring woman arrives in Mystic Falls; the kind of sorceress who can enslave men with a single knowing glance. Is she simply a seductress or someone — or something — more threatening? Yet another evil threatens Elena’s hometown. A mysterious psychopath is stalking Caroline. Suddenly powerless, a mere human being, Elena reaches out to the dark side, imploring Stefan Salvatore for guidance and help. But he’s with Rebekah now. And Elena begins to understand that she’s probably lost him forever. Complicating matters, Tyler and Klaus are prepared to fight over Caroline’s safety. Perhaps even fight to the death. With Mystic Falls suddenly a cauldron of furious, exploding passions, Elena must somehow summon the human strength and cunning to protect friends and banish newfound enemies.

Read my review here.

19 thoughts on “Author Alicia Dean Helping Children Today For A Better Tomorrow Through The Ian Somerhalder Foundation

  1. Thank you so much for the wonderful write up!!! This project is definitely dear to my heart, and knowing Ian has such a giving spirit makes him even sexier, even though I will say I like the ‘bad boy’ thing he has going on. 🙂

    1. You are so welcome! I think this program is a fantastic idea and find you completely awesome for donating to the cause. It’s a bit serendipitous (I think that’s the right word) as the next book/series I’m reviewing is about a dog sanctuary and how both the damaged dogs and humans heal each other. The series is by Tasman Gibb and absolutely amazing.

      1. Oh wow, that is serendipitous, and yes, I believe that’s the right word. It does sound like an amazing series. And, thank you for the kind words, but it’s the very least I can do for such a fabulous cause.

  2. I LOVE this. It’s inspiring. I love Ian, I truly do. Maybe I’ll donate some of my KW royalties to the foundation as well when I’m more financially stable. I decided I’m gonna publish a few more stories since I’m not posting on FFN anymore.

  3. I should have said this in the post, but the biggest thing that moves me about this project is the fact that Ian doesn’t disregard the plight of those doing the bullying. Yes, some do it just to be mean. But, there are so many damaged young people out there that bully in an attempt to empower themselves because it’s their only outlet. Naturally, this doesn’t excuse their choice, but we can’t dismiss their actions without digging deeper into what drives some of these young people. Again, kudos to Ian and the folks at ISF for considering this aspect of bullying.

    1. I agree. Ian is brilliant, as well as beautiful. 🙂 It definitely doesn’t excuse them, and some are perhaps just mean, but for some, it is a way of dealing with their own pain and helplessness. If you can turn a bully child into a caring person, we’ll have fewer criminals in the world.

      1. I was bullied when I was a kid, so I wish I had the money right now to donate. Gah. I respect ISF so much and it’s not just cause I’m a little in love with Smoldy. I absolutely agree with the turning a bully into a caring child. It can be done.

        1. I was also bullied as a child. It’s kind boggling how awful children can be, but as an adult, I see things that help me understand where that hate and, yes, despair comes from that leads a person to hurt another. By starting a program such as ISF Animal Sanctuary, Ian & company can potentially save so many children from becoming extremely troubled adults. Alicia mentioned crime, but there’s also the potential of passing on that hate and low self-esteem, being verbally abusive to loved ones, if not physically. As for donating, you should look into ways that you can support the program that doesn’t require a financial commitment. For instance, you can add a blurb and link at the back of all your books. Spreading the word can be just as important as donating a couple of dollars. 🙂

  4. M.J., if you know just a tiny bit about TVD, I think you would enjoy the novellas. They really can stand alone without being an obsessive fan. Not that anyone here is an obsessive fan or anything…

    1. Awww, thank you! I’ve actually suggested my sister, who’s only seen a few episodes of TVD, not read them, even though she devours everything I write. Maybe I should rethink that! 😉

  5. Alicia Dean–it doesn’t surprise me to find you using your immense talent to help children and animals in a real way. You are an amazing person, editor, and writer. Thanks for inspiring the rest of us 🙂
    Love you, lady.

Find this post interesting? Let's start a discussion.

%d bloggers like this: