4 Stars for Lexi Blake’s Revenge, the Final Book in the Lawless Series

4 Stars for Lexi Blake’s Revenge, the Final Book in the Lawless Series

4 Stars

When Drew Lawless discovers a fatal flaw in his plan to avenge his parents’ deaths, he turns to the one woman he promised he wouldn’t touch. He offers her a deal, one that will bring her into his investigation, his life, and his bed. 

Investigative reporter Shelby Gates never dreamed how twisted the case would become—or how fascinated she would be with Drew. Every day they spend together binds them. And every night brings her closer to realizing he might be the man for her. 

As Drew’s feelings for Shelby grow, so does the danger. From the streets of Dallas to Austin’s high-tech business world, Drew and Shelby play a game begun twenty years before—a game they will win, or die trying.

Would you believe this is my first Lexi Blake novel? And, I started at the end of a series rather than the beginning and now I may be ruined because Drew Lawless just jumped to the top of my book boyfriend list.

Revenge is the 3rd and final book in Blake’s Lawless series, bringing the Lawless family to the brink of the revenge they’ve searched for, led by patriarch Drew. This guy is a romance novel hero for the 21st century. He’s hot, he’s a nerd, he’s socially awkward, and he’ll protect his family at all costs. Unlike some heroes we meet, Drew was far from perfect and his social ineptness made me cringe frequently, but this just made him all the more real. And he met his match in Shelby Gates.

Blake knocked it out of the park with her main characters in Revenge. Shelby is an investigative reporter, a journalist with integrity who digs deep for the truth. She’s strong, smart, independent, persistent, and patient, all characteristics that make her the perfect woman for Drew who needs someone to lean on after he’s been strong for everyone else. I loved them as individuals and as a couple, a perfect one-two punch.

As I suspect all Lexi Blake novels are, this book, at the heart, is about family and belonging. Drew has spent all of his adult life making sure his family is safe. Shelby has spent most of hers longing to belong to a family after her father abandoned hers and the deaths of her mother and brother. The threat they face as the Lawless family revenge reaches its climax is romantic suspense at its best with danger and surprises around every turn. Even though I haven’t read the earlier books in the series or any of the McKay-Taggart books, I didn’t feel as though I was missing anything. In fact, all the returning characters seamlessly slipped into my consciousness as people I knew and liked. The chemistry between all the characters made this a book that I could read more than once and the intrigue was smart and engaging.

4 stars for Revenge. Heat level: 4/5

I received Revenge from InkSlingerPr and the publisher in exchange for honest feedback.

Revenge was published in June 2017 by Berkley.


Don’t miss the previous books in the Lawless series:



Lexi Blake  NY Times and USA Today bestselling author Lexi Blake lives in North Texas with her husband, three kids, and the laziest rescue dog in the world. She began writing at a young age, concentrating on plays and journalism. It wasn’t until she started writing romance and urban fantasy that she found the stories of her heart. She likes to find humor in the strangest places and believes in happy endings no matter how odd the couple, threesome, or foursome may seem.

Her first novel, Their Virgin Captive: Masters of Ménage, Book 1, was a collaboration with New York Times bestselling author Shayla Black. There are six more books available in the series: Their Virgin’s Secret, Their Virgin Concubine, Their Virgin Princess, Their Virgin Hostage, Their Virgin Secretary, and Their Virgin Mistress.

In addition to the Masters of Ménage series, she is the author of the Masters and Mercenaries series. The first nine novels, The Dom Who Loved Me, The Men with the Golden Cuffs, A Dom is Forever, On Her Master’s Secret Service, Love and Let Die, Dungeon Royale, A View to a Thrill, You Only Love Twice, and Master No are available now, along with the novellas Sanctum, Unconditional, Dungeon Games, Cherished, Luscious, Adored, and Just One Taste. The tenth novel, From Sanctum with Love, is coming February 23, 2016, along with a new novella, Devoted, on April 12, 2016.

In 2013, Lexi also began releasing her urban fantasy series, Thieves. The full series, Steal the Light, Steal the Day, Steal the Moon, Steal the Sun, and Steal the Night, are available now on Amazon. The first two books in a spin-off of the series, Ripper and Addict, were released in 2015. Look for Sleeper, the next book in the spin-off series, to be released in Fall of 2016.

Lexi again collaborated with Shayla Black in a new series The Perfect Gentlemen. The first book, Scandal Never Sleeps, is now available. Book two, Seduction in Session, will release on January 5, 2016, followed by book three, Big Easy Temptation, on May 3, 2016.

Sign up for Lexi’s FREE newsletter at http://lexiblake.net.

For more information about her books, her appearances and her wacky life visit her Facebook page (http://goo.gl/q2IHnJ) or her website (http://www.lexiblake.net).

Find this post interesting? Let's start a discussion.

%d bloggers like this: