3.5 Stars for Book 6, Fury of Surrender, in Coreene Callahan’s Dragonfury Series

3.5 Stars for Book 6, Fury of Surrender, in Coreene Callahan’s Dragonfury Series

Dragon warrior Forge has been sentenced to death by the Dragonkind elite. Recalling the memories of his family’s murders could drive him to the edge of insanity, but it’s the only way to remove the target on his back. Fiercely determined to protect his pack and his newborn son, Forge agrees to undergo harrowing treatments to help him remember the trauma buried deep inside his heart and mind. When nothing works, a woman of unprecedented power is brought in to help.

Young, bright, and haunted by her own demons, hypnotherapist Hope Cunningham helps patients recover from their darkest memories. But each time she liberates a wayward soul, Hope’s personal pain digs deeper—until one patient ignites an unforgettable passion.

Forge’s healing journey is not without risk. Unwittingly, he has put Hope in the middle of a dangerous war, one that could shatter their eternal bond. Will the curative power of love be enough to save them?


3.5 Stars

I jumped right into Fury of Surrender, the 6th book of Coreene Callahan’s Dragonfury series, without having read any of the other books. While I struggled with the romance between the two main characters, it’s a testimony to Callahan’s writing and the world she created that I fell in love with the whole cast of characters and the secret society of dragons.

I have friends that have read this series over and over and I can completely understand why. First up, it reminded me a lot of J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series. It has a lot of the same elements:

  • Secret society of paranormal beings
  • A brotherhood of warriors
  • Bonded males who need women to survive
  • A group of warriors and their mates sharing a home

Even some of the previous storylines, which are hinted at in Fury of Surrender, are a bit similar. And, like Ward does with her books, Fury of Surrender has multiple POVs, spreading the story out beyond MCs, Hope and Forge. I love a series that puts you back in the head of past characters, giving them more story beyond the happily ever after. And, there’s a lot of story in Fury of Surrender, one which I had sort of a rollercoaster-like relationship with.

Hope and Forge took a long time to grab me as a couple. I felt like I was told to accept them long before I saw it. There were also times that I felt that they were just there to sell the book as a romance because they didn’t seem very important to the overall story arc. Eventually, they sparked something in me that said “I like these two together”, but I wasn’t overwhelmed by it. I did love Hope. She’s funny and dealing with an awful past that I wished had been fleshed out more. I’ve heard from my friends that have read the entire series that I did miss a lot of back story regarding Forge and they’re right. I never really felt like I got to know him. While I get he’s been around for a while, I still feel like he deserved more.

There are two secondary storylines that are vital to the overall arc of the series: the mystery of Mac’s tattoo and Ivar finding a cure for a virus he released in a previous book. While I didn’t know any back story on these two, Callahan does a fantastic job of making it easy to understand what’s going on. I never felt lost, rather I found myself deciding I needed to go back and see how these storylines started. And, the dynamics between all the characters provided some of the best moments of the book. The relationships between all of them are close ones filled with affection and humor that was very engaging. This is my favorite thing about series romance and I loved how well it played out here.

My only true complaint is a subjective one: I had a hard time with Callahan’s voice. She’s extremely detailed in her action descriptions and her depictions are terse. This frequently slowed the pace of the story.

3.5 stars for Fury of Surrender. Heat level: 3

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for honest feedback.

Fury of Surrender is book 6 in the Dragonfury series and was published in July 2017 by Montlake Romance. The entire series is available on Kindle Unlimited.

Fury of Surrender (Dragonfury, #6)

Find this post interesting? Let's start a discussion.

%d bloggers like this: